Hunter & Ashley

“We have always seen ourselves having kids and we know that our daughter Lily will make a kind and supportive big sister.”

Location: Colorado

Ages: 34 and 34

Religion: None

Professions: Water Quality Specialist/Entrepreneur

Other Kids: 1 daughter

Preferences: Any Race, Either Gender, Newborn up to 4 years of age

How We Met: We met in college, when we were both on a summer trip to Long Beach, California. Ashley was going to college in Missouri, and Hunter was finishing his degree in Colorado. We spent every day together that summer and decided we could make long distance work… 2 years later we were married and we’ll celebrate our 12th anniversary this year! We like to think that the challenge of starting as a long distance relationship helped us create a strong foundation for our relationship.

Qualities We Love, Admire and Respect in Each Other: Hunter is consistent and steady. I (Ashley) am always looking for the next adventure or creative business idea, and I love that he balances me with his practical outlook. He’s also very smart and a talented musician. One of my favorite things is listening to him play guitar while Lily sings and dances. My favorite thing about Hunter is that he’s so funny and can always make me laugh!

Our Hobbies and Interests: We love to spend time together as a family. Living in Colorado provides great opportunities for hiking and there are lots of great parks to play at. One of our very favorite family activities is biking! We love riding our bikes to restaurants or movies in the summer. We also like to travel and explore new places, or just stay home and play board games. You’ll usually find us at home having pizza and movie night on Fridays. 

Why We Want to Adopt: We have always seen ourselves having kids. We started talking about it before we were even engaged! After our pregnancy with Lily, we were diagnosed with Secondary Infertility, but we knew our family wasn’t complete yet. We know that Lily will make a kind and supportive big sister, and we’re excited to grow our family!