Maia & Tory

“One very important connection we share is the love of children and the desire to have a family of our own.”

Location: Massachusetts

Ages: 35 and 35

Religion: None

Professions: Veterinary Nurse/School Finance Director

Other Kids: None

Preferences: Caucasian/Hispanic, Either Gender, Newborn up to 1 year of age

How We Met: We met each other on Maia’s 31st birthday. It was an online romance for only three days before we met in-person. We had an instant connection! On our first date, we made dinner together in Tory’s apartment and stayed up all night talking. We shared many similar interests and even had similar pasts (we grew up less than five miles away from each other in Southern Maine!). One very important connection we shared was the love of children and the desire to have a family of our own someday.

Qualities We Love, Admire and Respect in Each Other: The first thing that drew me to Maia was her love for animals. I grew up on a farm, and nurturing animals has always been a huge part of my life. Because of this, I knew my future partner would have to share this commitment. Maia exhibits compassion and love in everything she does. A veterinary nurse by trade, her dedication to her patients speaks to her empathetic, generous, and selfless nature both at work and at home. Tory has the brightest and most cheerful nature of anyone you might encounter. She finds commonalities with every person she meets and always helps those in need. In addition to being a very kind and supportive person, Tory is extremely fun to be with. Her sense of humor and imagination make her a kid magnet, and children adore her!

Our Hobbies and Interests: We love to spend time together outside. One of our favorite things to do is to take our dogs on adventures around our neighborhood and in the parks surrounding our home. We love to travel and learn foreign languages. Maia is an avid gardener and enjoys creative writing, and often spends her free time doing projects in our yard. Tory is very musically-driven and has been involved in music since she was a small child. She takes weekly guitar lessons and plays music with friends in her free time. 

Why We Want to Adopt: We want to adopt because it is our dream to have children and build a family together. When we met, we realized this dream could become reality and we decided to grow our family via pregnancy. Soon after, we received an infertility diagnosis, but were not deterred, and eagerly began the adoption process. Both of us have always wanted to adopt, and now we have the opportunity to pursue it. Our life and work experiences have strengthened our desire to become parents. Maia worked as a nanny for many years and volunteered to teach English in a Guatemalan grade school. She enjoys supporting young people via youth mentoring agencies, and adores time spent with our nieces. Tory currently works for a K-8 public school and spent many years working on the administrative team at a residential youth summer camp. She has spent her entire career in the non-profit sector, exclusively for mission-driven educational agencies serving low-income communities.