Mike and Rachel - Ellen Kaplan Adoptions
portfolio_page-template-default,single,single-portfolio_page,postid-8365,bridge-core-2.5.8,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode_grid_1400,footer_responsive_adv,hide_top_bar_on_mobile_header,qode-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,qode-theme-ver-24.3,qode-theme-bridge,disabled_footer_bottom,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.4.2,vc_responsive

Mike and Rachel

“Our hearts are ready to love a child of any gender or race and to provide a loving, safe, and creative environment where they can grow healthy and happy.”

Location: Ohio

Ages: 46 and 38

Religion: Baptist/Catholic

Professions: Orthopedic Nurse Practitioner/Physical Therapist

Other Kids: 1 daughter

Preferences: Caucasian/Hispanic/Bi-Racial, Either Gender, Newborn up to 3 years of age

How We Met: Our family story began in Charlotte, North Carolina in 2007. Sarah was working with veterans at a nearby VA hospital and I was working my way through nursing school when we were introduced by a mutual friend. Our relationship grew and a year later Sarah returned to Toledo to obtain a doctorate in physical therapy while I finished my nursing degree in Charlotte. We married in 2009 and moved to Cleveland where we reside now with our daughter Cecilia and two dogs.

Qualities We Love, Admire and Respect in Each Other: Barton is a very caring, intelligent and kind person, devoting his life and career to taking care of other people. He is always first to volunteer to help out family and friends in any way and loves spending all of his free time and weekends with Cecilia. He loves taking her to swim class, going for a walk, or playing on her beloved playset in the backyard. Sarah is intelligent, outgoing, funny, and a great mother who is lovingly connected to our extended family members. She works very hard for our household and her career. Sarah is honestly the most caring, strong and courageous person I know. We both strive to make love the centerpiece of our family as we guide each other through everything that life presents us with.

Our Hobbies and Interests: In all that we do it is typically done together as a family enjoying each other’s company, whether alone as a couple or with family and friends. We always enjoy being outdoors with our dogs, traveling to explore life as much as we can and love to be entertained by concerts, musicals, and live comedy. Sarah is a big sports fan and is also the chef in the family, always experimenting with new recipes and tweaking them to make them in her own style. Barton is more of an outdoorsman, loving nature and animals. He loves fishing and hiking the trails, always up for a long adventure. We love spending time with our daughter as she wonders aloud of the world around her, learning something new every day.

Why We Want to Adopt: We both expressed a desire for children while dating and began actively trying for a child after two years of marriage. We were dismayed by our lack of progress and soon found ourselves with fertility specialists where success was not easy. After six years and many heartbreaking losses we were blessed with Cecilia. Once she was a year old we continued unsuccessfully until Sarah was unable to continue with IVF. We continue to have a strong desire to bring more children into our family and the light of that possibility has been a beacon for us to focus on. We are not dismayed by our experiences and feel we are now more resilient, holding our own and raising our child to be the best that she can be. Despite our difficulties, we continue together to seek experiences, happiness and laughter in our family and daily lives. Cecilia is flourishing and has a very kind heart. We strive to keep her heart, and the hearts of any children we may adopt to be filled with love and joy, hoping it can be shared with those they encounter in the world around them throughout their lifetime.

Call Now Button